I’m slacking

*Forgive me for not posting this week.  I’ve been trying to accomplish my ‘three post a week’ promise (which I’ve been fulfilling and enjoying) but have been slacking this week.  I’m trying to write every monday, wednesday, friday – this week is a little different

I had a conversation with someone this week that I had to laugh at (because if I can’t laugh at this it could get very frustrating)  He asked me if I knew of anyone looking for a job who wouldn’t mind becoming a secretary at the company he works for?  Like most employers in the city his company is finding it difficult to find adequate staff.   I told him “I’d keep an eye out but noone was coming to mind”.  Before the conversation ended I asked him “Oh by the way, if I do think of someone, what are some details I can tell them?”  He responded by telling me “Oh ya, starting salary is _________ plus bonus’ stock options and pension”.   Hopefully he didn’t notice my jaw hit the ground and my heart stop beating for a couple of seconds because the salary he mentioned for an entry level secretary position at his NON oil and gas company is a little more than I make (including benefits), then add bonus’, stocks and the pension!    I then told him I can type 20 words a minute – could I take the job?  O.K. – that’s a lie – I didn’t say that.

I have to be honest (this is my blog and I can be honest – just don’t tell anyone 🙂 situation like this is hard to hear about .  It’s difficult for me (and other pastor friends of mine – mostly associate/youth/children pastors because they usually don’t make close to what the senior pastor is making) to be in our situations and know how much money is out there if we want it.   It becomes an internal struggle to wrestle with my “calling” into ministry compared to taking care of my family.  God has definately taken care of myself and my family but it’s tempting to pull out of ministry and make more money elsewhere so that money wouldn’t be so much of an issue.  

Part of me feels guilty for saying that but more and more of my friends are pulling out of vocational ministry for this very same reason.  They have 30+ thousand in student loans, they can either go into ministry and make lower than 90% of their congregation or work in the secular world and make more money at a menial job and pay off their student loans and do ministry as well.   Some friends of mine from bible college that did stay in the ministry (not many) have to look for any opportunity to make money on top of their ministry jobs just to keep afloat.  This means time away from family, time away from personal rest, time away from what their “calling” should be. 

Now I feel like I’m ranting … which i may be.   It’s just very hard to stay in a vocation where your family stuggles with different pressures, your bank account is low and the stress involved with different peoples expectations is sometimes unbearable.  The pressure of living in a city like Calgary is a lot.  It’s not a cheap place to live.  It even makes things harder knowing what other people are making.

O.K. I’m not leaving my job today.  Much of what I said pertains to me, but also to anyone in my situation.  I chose to be in this ministy.  I chose to deal with what I deal with.  There is much joy in serving God in a full time setting.  Sometimes – in my weaker moments – I start thinking about doing something else – I’m guessing that in six months I’d be back in full time ministry. 

I just felt like ranting about this today. 

Explore posts in the same categories: random

7 Comments on “I’m slacking”

  1. G-Dawg Says:

    I have absolutely NO idea what you are talking about…actually I totally feel you – try to keep in mind the temporary pain for the long term gain. Somewhere along the line (possibly on the other side) we as full time pastors (excluding those seniors who make stupid coin) will see the significance of our commitments and decisions to stay in for the long haul without expecting a nice hefty increase in pay…there’s my two cents

  2. karen Says:

    Brad your rants make me laugh sometimes. I am proud of you and the man that you are no matter how much money that you bring home. Money is only money and I know that God has called you to a life of “full time” ministry. I am so glad that you have not decided to leave the ministry to pursue a career that makes you more money. The people that God brings into your life and seeing God work miracles in peoples lives is truly something that money cannot buy and that is why I am glad to be along on this ride with you!!

  3. Your eldest sister Says:

    I think that G-Dawg has something good to say – and makes a great point… also, remember doing and being in God’s Will, you will have more then enough and blessings that you can’t even image…. (maybe just not so tangible at times…)

    HANG IN …. We as humans will always what to see what is better on the ‘other side’ of the tracks!

  4. mrs.jk Says:

    Sounds to me like you have a wife whose value is “far above rubies”. You have a precious gem there. I’ll add your church to my prayer list and trust that they will see your true value and worth, and then do something about it. By the way, what make and color of vehicle are you looking for. I like to be very specific when I pray for something. You’ve been doing pretty good with the postings. Watch the mail for a box of fuzzy peaches soon!

  5. benyamen Says:

    You know what I do when I feel like that Brad? I turn on my stereo really loud and play that “Thank-you for giving to the Lord” song from the 80’s that FBC had once a month for special music . . . then I throw up in the back of my mouth a little and realize that life could be a lot worse. 😉
    Seriously though, I totally know what you’re talking about. I wrote a similar post a few weeks back that I’m sure you remember commenting on. I still don’t know what exactly will become of our profession/calling known as professional pastors down the road. I think if churches seriously want some of the best and the brightest to continue to even think about pastoral ministry than they will eventually have to do something about the cost of education and a raise in the pay scale. All things considered, I’m paid pretty well for an associate pastor, but if Jenn wasn’t working we couldn’t live on what I bring in. Ministry as a career would not be an option for me if I didn’t have a wife that wanted to have a full-time job.
    I definitely trust that God will bless those who are willing to make sacrifices in this life to serve him, but it would be nice if the church was willing to do some of the blessing in the meantime.


  6. […] I spent a little time parousing through and reading all the blogs on my list, in particular Brad’s post that sounded strangely similar to one I wrote myself a few weeks ago about some of the challenges […]

  7. darmbruster Says:

    I understand Brad – hey, if it wasn’t for a severance package from ‘you-know-where’, we probably would have gone under after 4 and a half years of ministry. I’m blessed where I am, and not by the financial package (which is as generous as a church of 30 can be – in fact, I’d call it sacrificial on their part), but by the other benefits a rural church pastor seems to get. We have more veggies in our fridge, freezer, cold storage, etc., and it seems that the fatted calf gets killed just when our freezer gets low (and we say nothing, but they seem to have a sensor that goes off when we’ve eaten our last package of ground beef.). I am learning that money isn’t everything, and it’s been a long time coming for me. God has been gracious, and I’m so thankful for that.


Leave a comment